Skip to Content

Bad Sex

Bad Sex Award 2009

The shortlist for the 2009 Bad Sex Award

The shortlist for one of the more entertaining literary competitions of the year has just been announced. Run by the Literary Review, it features a number of established names, showing that a literary reputation is no guard against writing bad sex scenes. The shortlist, which features only one woman, is:

Paul Theroux for A Dead Hand  Read more

Bad Sex Award 2010

Bad sex in Fiction Award 2010

Rowan Somerville is the winner of the eighteenth annual Literary Review Bad Sex in Fiction Award. The prize was awarded for passages from his second novel, The Shape of Her.  Read more

The Literary Review Bad Sex Prize 2013

Manil Suri's third novel, The City of Devi, has won the most dreaded award in the world of books: the Literary Review Bad Sex Prize.

The award was presented by Joan Collins in a ceremony attended by 400 guests at the Naval and Military Club in London, which is generally known as the In & Out.  Read more

Syndicate content