Skip to Content

Writing Opportunities 2023

The Lucy Cavendish College Fiction Prize 2023

Closing date: 
10 February 2023
Open to unpublished and unagented female writers, aged 21 or over, who live in the UK or Ireland. Entry fee £12
Winner £1,500 and guidance and support from literary agent and sponsor Peters Fraser Dunlop

The Prize is for novels by unpublished and unrepresented women writers over the age of 18 in the UK and Ireland. Now going into its thirteenth year, the Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize has developed a reputation for attracting first-class writing talent. Judges are seeking entries that combine literary merit with 'unputdownability', and it has been a catalyst for numerous literary careers.

The winner of the 2023 prize will receive guidance and support from literary agent and sponsor Peters Fraser Dunlop as well as a cash prize of £1,500.

Entrants need to submit 40-50 pages of their novel and 3-5 pages of synopsis.

The 2023 judging panel welcomes back Tim Bates, Head of the Books Department and literary agent at Peters Fraser Dunlop; Dr Isobel Maddison, Fellow Emerita of Lucy Cavendish College where she was Lecturer and Director of Studies in English; Jackie Ashley, political journalist, broadcaster and Honorary Fellow of the College; Gillian Stern, editor and ghost-writer; Lindsey Traub, Fellow Emerita, and Phoebe Morgan, Harper Collins Editorial Director and author of four novels published by HQ. Joining the panel this year are Reeta Chakrabarti, BBC News presenter and correspondent, and Sheena Patel, writer and assistant director for the film and TV industry. We will be announcing a very special Chair next week.

More about the Lucy Cavendish College Fiction Prize

Entry form