Skip to Content

T S Eliot 2006 Shortlist


T S Eliot Prize 2006 shortlist announcement and School Shadowing Scheme

The Poetry Book SocietySpecialist book club founded by T S Eliot in 1953, which aims to offer the best new poetry published in the UK and Ireland. Members buy at 25% discount. The PBS has a handsome new website at has just announced the Shortlist for the T S Eliot Prize 2006, to be awarded to the writer of the best new collection of poetry published in 2006.

Judges Sean O'Brien (Chair), Sophie Hannah and Gwenyth Lewis chose the following ten collections:

Simon Armitage Tyrannosaurus Rex versus the Corduroy Kid
Paul Farley Tramp in Flames
Seamus Heaney District and Circle
W N Herbert Bad Shaman Blues
Jane Hirshfield After
Tim Liardet The Blood Choir
Paul Muldoon Horse Latitudes
Robin Robertson Swithering
Penelope Shuttle Redgrove's Wife
Hugo Williams Dear Room

This list has two women, eight men, one American, one Irishman, two Scots and six English poets.  It also has one winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature (Seamus Heaney), one winner of this year's Forward Prize (Robin Robertson) and two previous winners (Paul Muldoon and Hugo Williams).  It should be a very interesting Eliot this year.

Find out more at

The winner will be announced on Monday 15 January 2007, when the prize of £10,000 will be presented by Mrs Valerie Eliot.

The T S Eliot Prize Readings, to which all ten shortlisted poets are invited, will take place at the UCL Bloomsbury Theatre in London.

The T S Eliot School Shadowing Scheme

The PBS has also announced a school shadowing scheme, the first for a major poetry prize.  This will offer A Level students the chance to get involved with shadowing the judges as they ponder their decision on the shortlist.  Go to their partner the English and Media Centre for further details of the Shadowing Scheme.