Skip to Content

Writing Opportunities 2020

The Page Turner Awards

Closing date: 
30 April 2020
Open to all. No entry fees
£10,000 prize fund

New Writing and Book Awards Aims to Change Writing Careers

The Page Turner Awards were created to change writing careers with success stories from the most impressive first 10 pages submitted.
Two different awards aim to help writers and authors to get discovered with possible literary agency representation and potentially taking a published book from page to film.

The Page Turner Writing Award offers writers and authors the chance to enter the first 10 pages of a completed, unpublished fiction or non-fiction manuscript, where a group of literary agents will read the work with a chance to get it published. Submissions open from 15 February until 30 April 2020.

The Page Turner eBook Award is for any published fiction and non-fiction books, which will be read by the judging panel of literary experts. Nominations are now open until 30 April 2020.

The awards welcomes both emerging writers and all genres for fiction and non-fiction from any English-speaking country across the world.

Founder of The Page Turner Awards, Paula Wynne said: "As an author I wanted to provide a launch pad for new and emerging writers. We've specifically added prizes that are important to writers and authors, the kind that will be a steppingstone to the next stage of their writing career."

The prestigious judging panel, made up of successful award-winning authors, literary agents and publishers, is looking for vivid, cinematic writing with captivating characters and unique voices.

The judges include Kimberley Atkins, Publisher for Hodder & Stoughton in London, Karly Caserza Literary Agent with Fuse Literary Agency, Susan Mears from Susan Mears Literary & Film Agency, Louise Buckley from the Zeno Agency and LA Film Scout, Stephen Hodges.

The Page Turner Awards is also delighted to have multi award-winning and bestselling children's author Geraldine McCaughrean.

Accompanying Geraldine is Louise Keenan, a media lawyer at law firm CMS, and award-winning authors, Natalie Trice, Abiola Bello and Allison Maruska judging the eBook Award.

Winners of the Writing Award may receive representation by a literary agent.

Winners of the eBook Award will receive a chance to secure film rights for their book and valuable publicity campaigns by Palamedes PR in the UK and PR for Writers in the USA.

The £10K prize fund includes a Screen and Television Adaptation Report, The Novel Factory Writing Software, the Writing Academy‘s Author's Success Bundle, the Ultimate Fantasy Writer's Guide and the chance to be mentored by successful authors, Shobha Ponnappa and Allison Maruka.

For more details